DIY tote bag: Danish krone

1

For my first post on this blog, I thought I’d do something about a Scandinavian country that will always feel a bit like home to me. It is already three years ago that I lived in Denmark for four months during my exchange at university; an experience that can only be described using superlatives. Last year over the summer, our group of ten international friends was invited to Leipzig in Germany, for our second reunion. I made this gift for Jerry /  Jebbediah / doctor von Umlaut or, in short, our host.

2

Choose a solid fabric and sew your tote bag. You can find many patterns on the internet or you can sew it the way you like. Just remember to make the bag inside out and think twice before you attach the handles.

3

Think about your decorations. Since I am a big fan of the Danish coins, I figured this one wasn’t too hard to do. I found this image on the internet and printed it out in high contrast so the lines were very well visible.

4

Then cut out the lines by using a utility knife. Make sure you keep all of the small pieces you have cut out (otherwise your O will be a dot in stead of a circle). You have a template now. I took this picture after using the template and as you can see, it can be reused. I placed this template on the outside of the tote bag while putting  several magazines on the inside to prevent that the paint would leave marks on the other side. I secured the template with pins (pinned through the fabric and into the magazines) so that it would not move when I was going to stamp.

5

 For the stamping I used a simple old sponge and acryl paint. Do not apply the paint directly onto the sponge but first on a plastic box or container which you can throw away afterwards. When doing this, you can moderate the amount of paint easily.

IMG_4604

Before starting on your tote bag, take a piece of the same fabric to try out how the fabric will react to the paint. I mixed the colors here too to see which color I should apply first (I wanted them to overlap just a little bit). Here, I think the top one has a much better finish than the bottom one.

6

Then you can start stamping! When you are done, gently remove the template and let the paint dry. The paint dries very quickly so after a few hours I secured the paint with water protection (I normally use this for coats and shoes) and hair spray. After the hair spray the fabric sticks a lot but just let it dry long enough.

Thank you for reading my first post!
I also made a bloglovin account so go ahead and follow me there:
http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/13252425

Leave a Reply

