Fall recipe: Quinoa, pumpkin and feta cheese

IMG_7083

Just before winter really kicks in, I wanted to share a perfect fall recipe. Everything you need for those warm dark evenings with family is just right there in your oven. Put on your warmest woolen socks and take out your cutting board (because really, that is the only cooking skill you need for this).

I had way too much time on my hands when I cooked this dish for my family. I was all about the fall atmosphere and wanted something different on my plate that smoothly fitted into the long evenings. A few days before I got a couple dozen of walnuts straight out of my mother in law’s garden. I had to do something more with these than only eating them as a snack! Browsing several websites and not really finding what I was searching for, I ended up combining several recipes into this one. Hands down, it was absolutely my taste. And to my surprise my dinner companions couldn’t get enough of it either. The evening that I made this dinner, my grandmother was just visiting. Because she once was a sous-chef, she asked me what I was cooking. She wanted to leave by the time I served the dish but I insisted that she took a bite to taste it. “Hm, there’s something different!” was the verdict. Two days later the phone rang: “Chanou, could you send me that recipe of that pumpkin dish you made earlier this week?” After borrowing recipes from her for several years now, I can only say: mission accomplished.

For two persons: 

– 150 g quinoa
– 1 small butternut pumpkin
– 1 yellow pepper
– 1 big red onion
– feta cheese (quantity according to taste)
– 5 to 7 walnuts
– sesame seeds
– some fresh thyme, rosemary and tarragon
– honey
– salt and pepper
– peanut oil

Preheat the oven at 200°C. Peel and cut the pumpkin bite-sized. Cut the onion and pepper too. Put all the vegetables in a baking dish. Add salt, pepper, some peanut oil and a teaspoon of honey. Divide the fresh herbs between the vegetables. Put the dish in the oven for 30 to 35 minutes. Stir the veggies in this time regularly, allowing the herbs and honey to mix well. Ten minutes before you have to take the dish out of the oven, add as much sesame seeds as you like.

Prepare the quinoa. For every quantity of quinoa, add two quantities of salt- or broth-flavored water in a pot. Put on low heat and let simmer until dry. Then heat a wok with a bit of peanut oil to medium heat and add the quinoa to make it a bit more crunchy. Add a bit more of pepper, salt and tarragon. Cut the walnuts and add to the wok as well. Crumble the feta cheese, add to the wok and lower the heat until the oven dish is ready, stirring regularly. Combine the quinoa mixture with the veggies in a large plate and decorate with some fresh herbs. 

Enjoy!

IMG_7080

I also made a Bloglovin account so go ahead and follow me there:
http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/13252425

One thought on “Fall recipe: Quinoa, pumpkin and feta cheese

  1. Pingback: Walnut-banana cakes & mango-cinnamon cookies | The Northern Nook

Leave a Reply

