DIY Alternative Christmas tree

IMG_5088

After Sinterklaas has brought treats to all the good children in the lowlands, for most Belgian families it is now time to put up the Christmas tree. (If you are not familiar with the Sinterklaas tradition, this page here will explain it to you). This year, I did things a bit differently. Below is a step-by-step tutorial for a space- and budget-friendly Christmas tree without damaging your walls permanently. 

As much as I am all about the Christmas atmosphere, my mother is unfortunately not. Since I am moving out of my parents’ home very soon, I thought I should respect her wishes for not putting up a real-life Christmas tree. Considering her modern style and after gathering ideas from Pinterest, I came up with the project shown below. Luckily, our garden was just made winter-proof and I had all the materials necessary for this tutorial. However, I don’t think it should be too hard to find the branches or natural ornaments. We were very happy with the result and I had fun going all crafty!

IMG_5010

First collect some fine branches. Ideally, they don’t have too much little branches or flowers and it’s easier to work when they are not fragile. Collect them in advance because you want them to be dry. As I said, these just came from my own garden.

IMG_5011

With a tapeline you can determine the size of your tree, depending on the space you have. Mine is about 1,5m. Select branches that match the style you want to create. Straight branches are the easiest to work with.

IMG_5016

For the next step you need a fine natural-colored rope. Take a piece that has at least three times the length of your tree. Divide the rope in two. With the loop you make a knot on the lowest branch of the tree. Then you work your way up by tying the branches together by just making a knot (with the two ropes together) and putting the branch trough it. When it is still lying on the ground, it doesn’t look very firm but when the tree is hanging on the wall later on it will tighten because of the weight. This step requires the most time and work.

IMG_5026

Do the same on both ends of the branches. Tie the ropes together at the top. This way you create an opening were you can hang your tree.

IMG_5028

The only thing you need to hang your tree is a nail. You don’t even have to use a new nail, I just removed a painting that was hanging on this nail.

IMG_5029

Before hanging the tree, you can choose to use a transparent cloth underneath to protect your wall. I secured this to the two lamps that were hanging above the painting. Alternatively, you can use the same nail as where the tree is hanging and cut the cloth out in the shape of your tree. Do not cut the ends of the ropes you used to hang the tree. You will need them in the next step.

Join

I made a star to decorate the top of the tree. Lash a couple of branches together and decorate. You can use the ends of the ropes to tie this star to the top of your tree.

IMG_5040

Add lights! I used lights that had an iron wire connecting them. This was very easy to layer them in the way I wanted. You can just weave and zigzag them through the ends of the branches.

IMG_5047

Then you can decorate it further as you wish. I wanted to keep the tree sober and simple. I still had these fake flowery-branches lying around somewhere and thought they might come in handy here. I used a few in their natural color but at some point I wanted to add more glitter…

Join2

So I decided to spray a few of them gold!

Join3

As you can see, it is not a huge difference but it just adds that little bit more. Still sober, but elegant. You can attach them by putting the ends through the knots of the branches.

IMG_5062

The final decorations were these cuty glittery pompoms. These were originally connected with a fine transparent line but I cut them loose and used the line to hang them on the branches.

IMG_5071

And you’re done! You can of course choose which ever way you want to decorate your tree. I went for this simple and natural style which fits the rest of the house. Below are a few more close ups from the final result.

IMG_5074

IMG_5081

IMG_5083

Enjoy the cosy weeks before Christmas!

I also made a Bloglovin account so go ahead and follow me there:
http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/13252425

Leave a Reply

